Lee is the most sought-after editor in Southeast Asia.

Lee is the most sought-after editor in Southeast Asia.

All 3 jury members for SeaShorts competition are announced: the head of jury Lav Diaz (Philippines), Bront Palarae (Malaysia), and last but not least, Lee Chatametikool (Thailand)!

20 short films from Southeast Asian countries will be selected for SeaShorts Competition. The deadline for submission is June 15th, 5 more days to go!
Submit at:

About Lee Chatametikool

One of the best thing that happened in the Southeast Asia film history is this:

in 2001, Lee Chatametikool moved back to Bangkok from New York to work on Apichatpong Weerasethakul’s first narrative feature film, ‘Blissfully Yours’. He was not the editor at first, he was the sound man on set. And after shooting he also help with putting the rushes together, and eventually involved in the editing process, and became the editors of all Apitchapong's films after that.

Although mostly known as Apitchapong's editor, Lee has since worked alongside a new crop of young filmmakers in Thailand, editing the debut features for many up and coming directors, including a commercial suceess, Shutter.

In 2007, he won the Best Editor award for ‘Syndromes and a Century’ at the inaugural Asian Film Awards in Hong Kong. The Bangkok Film Critic’s Assembly awarded him for his work on ‘Wonderful Town’ in 2008.

In 2010, he won Best Editor for the second time from the Asian Film Awards for his work on Malaysian director Chris Chong's ‘Karaoke’.

Lee is the most sought-after editor in Southeast Asia. To date, he has 48 films credits under him, including Apprentice, Pop Aye, Malila: The Farewell Flower, Manta Ray, and Thailand 10 Years.

Submit your short films to SeaShorts!
1. Director(s) must be from Southeast Asia.
2. The short film submitted had not been premiered in any film festival before 1st June 2018.
3. Country of production: Southeast Asian countries ( fulfilled by at least three of these: film locations, core team members, main casts, or funding)
4. Short Film Duration not more than 30 minutes, including credits.

Deadline: 15th June 2019
Submit at: